Cayman Islands

 

Since the Caribbean is literally around the corner, we spent our HONEYMOON in Grand Cayman. It was the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen in my life. The water was incredibly clear and super warm (around 30 °C or 86 °F). Sometimes it was even warmer in the water than outside!

Mark and I decided to spent our week on the less crowded side of the island – the east end – since we really dislike busy and touristic places. We booked off-season, so it was pretty quiet – exactly what we were looking for! Most of the time we spent underwater or relaxing at the beach in the sun. There are a lot of beautiful snorkeling spots on Grand Cayman, my favorite was definitely The TURTLE BAY– that was the first time I’ve ever seen a sea-turtle and these are the most beautiful creatures in the world (after penguins, of course!). We spent over 2 to 3 hours capturing all angles of the sea-turtle – and it was quite exhausting, however I couldn’t stop watching her. After this wonderful snorkeling session, we went on a trip through the main city, which was on the other side of the island. One of the resort manager told us to go to “hell” – that is a suburb on Grand Cayman, super funny! So we did this normal sightseeing thing, we took a lot of pictures and drove from spot to spot all around the island. Check out the turtle video and snorkeling video on our YouTube channel.

The next thing you really should do is a trip to STING RAY CITY (Video)To be honest, I was a little bit scared, when I first saw the sting rays in the water, because they were super HUGE! While I was standing on the boat watching the sting rays swimming around, Mark was the first person underwater – he wasn’t scared at all. So after a few minutes I finally pulled myself together and got the courage to jump straight into the sting ray infested water. Since they are even bigger underwater (some of them even bigger than me!), I decided to sit on Mark’s back like a baby koala. Even though it was a great experience and lots of fun, I wouldn’t do it again – definitely not alone. If you aren’t such a scary cat as I am, you will enjoy it for sure!

Grand Cayman was definitely on our dive bucket list – so we did two dives, which apparently are on the list of the Top 10 dive spots in the world. The first dive – BABYLON (Video) – was a wall dive. It was my 6th dive, since I just got certificated 1 month ago here in Pennsylvania in a cold lake – so I was super excited and a little bit nervous. In the end it was incredible! We saw beautiful corals, a lot of fish, a few lobsters and moray eels. Even in 25 m  (82 ft) depth you could see the water surface with the waves, the visibility was awesome – crystal clear water! The second dive – SNAPPER HOLE (Video) – was a dive through natural canyons and caverns. Sometimes I hesitated to swim in a pitch black hole, because I barely couldn’t see anything. It was a great experience and definitely my favorite dive.

…so if you’re planning vacation in the Caribbean, I would definitely recommend Grand Cayman (try to avoid the high season). The only bad thing is, that food is very expensive! But it’s such a beautiful place and I would always come back 🙂

 

One thought on “Cayman Islands

Leave a Reply

